Aloha or what?

While waiting for the crosswalk at the Johnny Cash Trail near downtown Folsom, a guy walks up with 2 tweens and they’re talking about him giving them money to fix their chromebook. But actually, it’s about federal relief aid.

Like this:

“What if you took the money I gave you to fix your chromebook and gave it to someone else to fix their chromebook? Then you can’t fix your chromebook. And I’m not going to give you more money to fix your chromebook. Well that’s what Biden is doing with all our money.”

I look at the guy a little more closely. Big guy, kinda sunburned. He’s wearing one of those farm worker straw hats that are so trendy now, and a tank top, both with the word ALOHA printed pretty big. The logo was recognizable to me as a well-known business in Hawaii that coordinates a lot of fundraising by selling clothes items. VH07V raises tens of thousands of dollars to help local organizations.

I had to ask myself, is this guy’s words really the spirit of aloha in action? Or he’s just buying stuff on his vacation & don’t give 2 shits what it means. Also, what is my kuleana in this situation? I did mutter “that’s not aloha” to myself but didn’t say anything to him directly.

“If you no like something, you no need say something.” I just went by that today.




    Leave a comment